Ballet for Life
Maurice Béjart

A little over thirty years ago, in between Berlioz surprising music interspersed with bombing and the sound of ma­chine guns, an unconventional Friar Lawrence cried out to Jorge Donn and Hitomi Asakawa: “Make love, not war!”

Today, Gil Roman, who is about the same age as the creation of my Romeo and Juliet, surrounded by dancers who have never seen this ballet, answers: “You told us to make love, not war. We made love. Why is love waging war on us?”

A cry from the youth, for whom the problem of death by love is added to the multiple wars that have never ceased in the world since the so-called END of the last World War!

Above all, my ballets are encounters with music, with life, with death, with love… with all those, whose life and works find a renewal within me. Moreover, the dancer who I am no longer is reincarnated each time by the dancers who surpass this former self.

A love affair with the music by Queen. Invention, violence, humour, love… it’s all there. I love the group. They inspire me and guide me, sometimes through this no man’s land where we will all go one day and where, I am sure, Freddie Mercury is playing a duet on the piano with Mozart.

A ballet about youth and hope, as hopeless and optimistic as they are. Despite everything, I believe that “the show must go on”, as Queen would say.

Maurice Béjart

Le Presbytère n’a rien perdu de son charme, ni le jardin de son éclat
Maurice Béjart

Il y a un peu plus de trente ans, au milieu de la surprenante musique de Berlioz entrecoupée de bombardements et de bruits de mitrailleuses, un Frère Laurent peu conventionnel s’écriait devant Jorge Donn et Hitomi Asakawa : « Faites l’amour, pas la guerre ! »

Aujourd’hui, Gil Roman, qui a à peu près l’âge de la création de mon Roméo et Juliette, entouré de danseurs qui n’ont jamais vu ce ballet répond : « Vous nous avez dit : faites l’amour, pas la guerre. Nous avons fait l’amour, pourquoi l’amour nous fait-il la guerre ? »

Cri d’angoisse d’une jeunesse pour laquelle le problème de la mort par l’amour s’ajoute à celui des guerres multiples qui n’ont pas cessé dans le monde depuis la soi-disant FIN de la dernière guerre mondiale !

Mes ballets sont avant tout des rencontres : avec une musique, avec la vie, avec la mort, avec l’amour… avec des êtres dont le passé et l’œuvre se réincarnent en moi, de même que le danseur que je ne suis plus, se réincarne à chaque fois en des interprètes qui le dépassent.

Coup de foudre pour la musique de Queen. Invention, violence, humour, amour, tout est là. Je les aime, ils m’inspirent, ils me guident et, de temps en temps dans ce no man’s land où nous irons tous un jour, Freddie Mercury, j’en suis sûr, se met au piano avec Mozart.

Un ballet sur la jeunesse et l’espoir puisque, indécrottable, optimiste, je crois aussi malgré tout que The show must go on, comme le chante Queen.

Maurice Béjart