Rhapsody in Blue
Giorgio Madia

In 2016, I paid tribute to my first and main mentor, Maurice Béjart, with Swan Song. This time, I wanted to address the company by saying what I would have liked to see on stage as a spectator. One of Béjart’s main beliefs was the vital, festive and archaic energy of dance. He understood that dance, as a festive event born of a primal impulse, is spiritual. Its beauty and charm are in this very essence.

To honor this vision, I chose a title that celebrates its centenary this year: George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue. The inspiration comes from its lack of a definite form. The composer’s total freedom, ranging from classical to jazz, allows me to use different dance forms and languages that are different from each other. The only justification is the one suggested by the music itself. Gershwin describes his work as a kind of multicolored fantasy, a musical kaleidoscope representing a cultural melting pot. From a choreographic perspective, I would describe it as a Capriccio or a Folie. It’s not about the aesthetic of the body, but the aesthetic of music through the body.

Keeping the global themes of 2024 in mind, I understand that creating something frivolous is the height of luxury. I want to celebrate the beauty and power of music as a direct expression of the soul by humbly and proudly serving it. In the spirit of the 1924 composition perhaps.

Giorgio Madia 

Cette fonction a été désactivée

Rhapsody in Blue
Giorgio Madia

Après avoir voulu rendre hommage à mon premier et principal mentor, Maurice Béjart, avec Swan Song en 2016, j’ai souhaité cette fois ­ci m’adres­ser à la compagnie en exprimant ce que j’aurais aimé voir sur scène en tant que spectateur. L’un des principaux credos de Béjart a été le concept d’énergie vitale, festive et archaïque de la danse. Il comprenait que la danse, en tant qu’événement festif né d’une impulsion primordiale, est spirituelle. C’est dans cette essence même que réside sa beauté et son charme.

Pour honorer cette vision, j’ai choisi un titre qui célèbre cette année son centenaire: Rhapsody in Blue, de George Gershwin. Ce qui m’inspire ici, c’est son absence de forme définie. La liberté totale du compositeur, allant du classique au jazz, me permet d’utiliser des formes et des langages de danse différents et éloignés les uns des autres, sans autre justification que celle suggérée par la musique elle­ même. Gershwin décrit sa composi­tion comme une sorte de fantaisie multicolore, un kaléidoscope musical représentatif d’un creuset culturel. D’un point de vue chorégraphique, je la considérerais comme un Capriccio ou une Folie. Ce n’est pas l’esthétique du corps mais l’esthétique de la musique à travers le corps.

En tenant compte des thèmes mondiaux de 2024, je suis conscient que créer quelque chose de frivole représente le summum du luxe. Mais j’aspire à célébrer la beauté et le pouvoir de la musique, comme expression directe de l’âme, en me mettant humblement et fièrement à son service. Peut-être dans l’esprit de la composition de 1924.

Giorgio Madia

Cette fonction a été désactivée