7 danses grecques
Maurice Béjart

What we call “folklore” (I personally prefer the term “traditional arts”) is always difficult to access and almost impossible to grasp, and whether it belongs to the tradition of a culture is not an advantage or a handicap. After all, our civilizations have alienated us from the traditional spirit to such an extent that it is difficult for us to comprehend the mental process that gave rise to this art in a very distant past.

 

Yet that is the key to the problem: to become the other and not to depict the other. Embrace creation through its inner line—its hidden strength which is understood in the roots of a people, an ethnic or cultural group and to minimize the use of obvious folkloric quotations.

 

In the case of dance, archaeological or popular reconstructions always have a stiff and pitiful aspect. It wavers between the museum and the music hall, boredom and the unnatural. For “Greek dances”, I tried to minimize borrowing from authentic Greek dance “steps”. Some dances feature two or three of them; others none at all, and those are probably the most successful ones, the most Greek of them all!

 

I was working on a Mediterranean sequel called Thalassa when Theodorakis introduced me to this music. I welcomed it enthusiastically and it became the final chapter of the work.

 

Later, the number of dances was reduced from nine to seven and the choreography was reworked with mathematical rigor (some dances are composed like Bach’s fugues) to become a ballet where Greece – according to the Greeks who have seen it – is all the more present even if the borrowings from its folklore are minimal and the costumes are bare, non-existent, like those that the dancers wear in the studio.

Maurice Béjart, 1983

7 danses grecques
Maurice Béjart

Ce que nous nommons le « folklore » (pour ma part, je préfère la formule « arts traditionnels ») est toujours difficile d’accès et presque insaisissable et le fait d’appartenir ou non à la tradition de la culture en question n’est pas, ni avantage, ni handicap. Car, nos civilisations nous ont tellement éloignés de l’esprit traditionnel qu’il nous est difficile de concevoir le processus mental ayant donné naissance à cet art dans un passé souvent lointain.

C’est pourtant là qu’est la clé du problème : devenir l’autre et non pas dépeindre l’autre. Prendre la création par sa ligne intérieure, sa force cachée qui est de comprendre les racines d’un peuple, d’un groupement ethnique, culturel et réduire au minimum les citations folkloriques évidentes.

Dans le cas de la danse, les reconstitutions archéologiques ou populaires ont toujours un côté guindé et lamentable. On oscille entre le musée et le music-hall, l’ennui et le frelaté.

Pour ces « danses grecques », j’ai cherché à limiter au maximum les emprunts à des « pas » authentiquement grecs. Certaines danses en contiennent deux ou trois ; d’autres pas du tout, et ce sont certainement les plus réussies, les plus grecques !

Lorsque Theodorakis m’a porté cette musique, j’étais en train de travailler sur cette suite méditerranéenne nommée Thalassa. Je l’accueillis avec enthousiasme et elle en constitua le volet final.

Par la suite, le nombre de danses, de neuf fut ramené à sept et la chorégraphie retravaillée dans le sens de la rigueur mathématique (certaines danses sont composées comme des fugues de Bach) pour devenir ce ballet où la Grèce – aux dires des Grecs – est d’autant plus présente que les emprunts à son folklore sont minimes et que les costumes, dépouillés, sont inexistants comme ceux que les danseurs portent au studio.

 

Maurice Béjart, 1983