• PHOTO GALLERY
Là où sont les oiseaux
Gil Roman

While I was preparing this tour in China, I had the pleasure of meeting in our Lausanne studios, Mr. Chen Sheng Lai. On this occasion, he handed me a text he had written, Le charme de la vie (the charm of life).  Echoing this poem, images and ideas had emerged: life – death – re-birth – cycle – Ying – Yang – balance. Suddenly, a light… Marta Pan.

This incredible sculptor, who I had the pleasure to meet and whose works are exhibited worldwide, was a close friend of Maurice Béjart. They collaborated on various occasions, among others in 1959, when Marta Pan created Equilibre (Balance), which inspired Maurice Béjart to create the ballet with the same name, in, around and with the sculpture.Excepting this sculpture, for this ballet, nothing remains; there is no trace of choreography.

So I started working from the text of Chen Sheng Lai and the work of Marta Pan. Thierry Hochstätter and jB Meier, who worked on my two latest creations, composed the original music for this new piece.

A studio, dancers and music
Marta, Maurice
Birth…

Gil Roman

• GALERIE PHOTOS
Là où sont les oiseaux
Gil Roman

Alors que je préparais cette tournée en Chine, j’eus le plaisir de recevoir à Lausanne, dans nos studios, M. Chen Sheng Lai. A cette occasion, il me remit un texte qu’il avait écrit : Le charme de la vie. En écho à ce poème, des images, des idées ont surgi : vie – mort – renaissance – cycle – Ying – Yang – équilibre. Et tout à coup, une lumière… Marta Pan.

Cette immense artiste sculpteur, que j’avais eu la joie de rencontrer et dont les œuvres sont aujourd’hui exposées dans le monde entier, fut une amie proche de Maurice Béjart. Ils collaborèrent à diverses reprises, entre autre en 1959, lorsque Marta Pan réalisa Equilibre, qui inspira à Maurice Béjart la création d’un ballet éponyme, dans, autour et avec la sculpture. De ce ballet, excepté cette sculpture, il ne reste rien, aucune trace de chorégraphie.

Je me mis donc à travailler à partir du texte de Chen Sheng Lai et de l’œuvre de Marta Pan. Thierry Hochstätter et jB Meier, qui ont collaboré à plusieurs de mes créations, ont composé la musique originale de cette pièce.

Un studio, des danseurs et de la musique
Marta, Maurice
Naissance…

Gil Roman