• PHOTO GALLERY
Aguas
Julio Arozarena

Béjart’s charisma was such that when he entered the studio, his mere presence reassured everyone. We felt that at the end of the rehearsal, we would be ready. There was nothing to worry about. This protective and creative image reminds me of my mother, or rather all mothers. Because motherhood is creation increased at its highest level.

By association of ideas, I mimic motherhood and water. Hence the title: Aguas  … In all cultures, water is considered a feminine element. And in my home culture, Cuba, the goddess of the sea Yemaya, from the Yoruba ritual, is considered the mother of all gods. It is certainly no coincidence that the Zephyr Trio, interpreters of the soundtrack of this ballet, is composed of three young women…

Of course, the seven dancers that I stage are not the characters in a story. I always say that if I were a writer rather than a choreographer, I would write poetry and not prose. I tried to produce a scenic poem, in the register of emotion and feeling, but also with all the tensions that family or professional relationships can generate.

Julio Arozarena

• GALERIE PHOTOS
Aguas
Julio Arozarena

Le charisme de Béjart était tel que lorsqu’il prenait place dans le studio, sa seule présence rassurait chacun. On avait le sentiment qu’à l’issue de la répétition, on serait prêt. Il n’y avait pas à s’inquiéter. Cette figure protectrice et créative me rappelle ma mère ou plutôt toutes les mères. Car la maternité est la création portée à son plus haut niveau.

Par association d’idées, je mets la maternité et l’eau en résonnance. D’où ce titre : Aguas. Dans toutes les cultures, l’eau est tenue pour un élément féminin. Et dans ma culture d’origine, à Cuba, la déesse de la mer Yemaya, du rite Yoruba, est considérée comme la mère de tous les dieux. Que le Trio Zéphyr, interprète de la bande sonore de ce ballet, soit constitué de trois jeunes femmes n’est certainement pas fortuit…

Bien sûr, les sept danseurs que je mets en scène ne sont pas les personnages d’une histoire. Je dis toujours que si  j’étais écrivain plutôt que chorégraphe, j’écrirais de la poésie et non de la prose. C’est une poésie scénique que j’ai essayé de produire, dans le registre de l’émotion et du sentiment, mais aussi avec toutes les tensions que les relations familiales ou professionnelles peuvent susciter.

Julio Arozarena